Skip to content

Photo Contest Winners 2017

Congratulations to all our 2017 Montana Council Annual Photo Contest winners!With so many entries, it was difficult to pick winners! In fact we added another category for adults –nature – so we could recognize more great experiences had by Montana Scouts and leaders.

We appreciate everyone’s participation and submissions. Below you will find our winning images. Also look for them in next year’s calendar! Don’t forget – it’s never too late to start shooting for next year!

Grand Prize Winner: Tina Frizzell O’Donnell. Congratulations!


1st Place, Adult Division: Keith Nathan, Mountain Valley District (MVD) Committee Member, taken at the MVD’s Cub Scout Day Camp in June, 2016.


2nd Place, Adult Division: Mike Zielinski, Assistant Scoutmaster, Boy Scout Troop 1115. Five day backpacking trip, heading up to Bear Creek Pass.


3rd Place, Adult Division: Betsy Garrigues, den leader with Pack 3671. Did you spot the hatchet in mid-air?


1st place Nature Division, Adults: Missouri River Trek out of K-M Scout Ranch. Bryan Kercher, Troop 1962 / Crew 2962. “Some of the guys take a minute to enjoy the view before another long day of paddling. These guys are actually from Troop 36 out of Orlando, FL, who shared the trip with us.”


2nd Place Nature Division, Adults:Tanya Matthew, Troop 1115. A view like no other at Scout Camp Melita Island.


3rd Place Nature Division, Adults: Rock Creek at the head of Como Lake. Troop 1115 – Florence. Dr. Steve Mazur. Did you notice the bags hanging in the trees?


Youth Division, 1st Place: Joshua G. Safety taught 1st by Adult leader at BB gun station, Day Camp.


Youth Division 2nd place: Jaron B. at the Black Otter District Cub Scout Day Camp.


Youth Division 3rd Place: Jacoby B., Pack 319.


Honorable Mention: Adult division, wildlife. Photo by Tina Frizzell O’Donnell


Honorable Mention: Female Venturers from Bozeman Crew 2526 at Annual Convention in Missoula. Photo by Betsy Eubanks


Honorable Mention: Provisional Troop at K-M Scout Ranch by Mike Zielinski, ASM – Troop 1115.


Honorable Mention: Tanya Matthew, Troop 115, Skit time at Scout Camp Melita Island.

How to enter and alternate year winners!


Quick Links