Montana district


District Overview

The Shortgrass District serves the following Montana counties: Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River and Rosebud. This area covers approximately 24,500 square miles in the eastern part of the state. Three major rivers meander through this Badlands region. These six counties have a population of approximately 29,500 (2012 U.S. Census estimation) people. Miles City is the business center of the region. The Shortgrass District includes the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. The major industries in the area include mining, oil well services, ranching, farming and financial services. Our goal is to serve as many of our communities’ youth as possible while retaining the quality program that Montana Scouting is known for.

District contact directory

District Chairman

Silas Counts

District Commissioner


District Director

Levi Knight

For Life.

Signup for our newsletter to receive Montana Council news, updates and stories of adventure from across the state.