Skip to content

Elaine R. Receives Billy Michael Student Leadership Award

Columbia Falls Eagle Scout Selected From Montana, 2022

Congratulations to Eagle Scout Elaine R. and her parents Ryan and Jamie, Troop 1941G, Columbia Falls. Elaine was selected as the State of Montana 2022 Billy Michal Student Leadership Award recipient.

First presented in 2017, this highly competitive award is given annually to one student from each state and the District of Columbia.

Elaine and one parent will be flown to New Orleans for three days to take part in the gala and award presentation. The 51 selected students will receive a medal inscribed with their names. Congratulation to Elaine from all of us in Montana Council!

Check out Elaine’s impressive photo essay.

Per the National WW2 Museum website:

“The values of leadership, teamwork, tolerance, creativity and perseverance can and should be learned and lived by all Americans regardless of age. When six-year-old Billy Michal from Zimmerman, Louisiana, helped his one-room school win a statewide scrap metal collection contest during World War II, he understood that every citizen—no matter how small—could contribute to our victory in the war. His example, and the actions of millions of other students on the Home Front, reminds us that service to country and community helps create active, engaged citizens. Through this award, the Museum promotes these values to students nationwide and honors those who exemplify them.”

“Nominees should have a strong record of volunteerism, school and/or community activism, or implementing creative solutions to recognized problems.”

Montana Council has had three other recipients of this award:

  • 2021 Eagle Scout Kaylee King from Troop 1941G and a Junior in HS.
  • 2019 Eagle Scout Vincente Gallardo from Butte, currently a student of Political Science at Carroll College. Vincente graduated from Butte Central Catholic HS in 2019 
  • 2018 Eagle Scout TJ Higuera, Troop 1911 Missoula, currently a Senior in HS (attending MSU Honors College in Aug 2022 and an MSU Provost Scholarship recipient)

Click here to learn more about the American Spirit Awards – National WW2 Museum, New Orleans.


Quick Links