Skip to content

Montana district


District Overview

The Silvertip District services Lake and Sanders counties, which cover approximately 4,444 square miles in the western part of the state. The county seats are Polson and Thompson Falls respectively. The Silvertip District also includes the Flathead Reservation.

A large portion of the Silvertip District consists of the truly wild lands of the northern Rocky Mountains. Parts of the Lolo National Forest, Kootenai National Forest, Mission Mountains Wilderness and Cabinet Mountains Wilderness lie within this district, as well as the plains, rivers, and mountains of the Flathead Indian Reservation and the National Bison Range. As a result, Scouting in the Silvertip District is focused mostly in the Mission Valley – Polson, Ronan, St. Ignatius, and the surrounding communities. Our goal is to engage as many of those youths as possible while retaining the quality program that Montana scouting is known for.

District counties



District goal

The goal of the Silvertip District is to provide the opportunity for every youth in our communities to become part of Scouting helping to prepare them to become productive adults in the future serving their communities. 

District contact directory

District Chairman

Robert Everson

District Commissioner

Julie Hille

Senior District Executive

Scott Jourdonnais