Montana district


District Overview

The Badlands District services the following Montana counties: Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, Wibaux, and a small portion of McKenzie County, North Dakota. This area covers approximately 8,200 square miles in the eastern part of the state. The Yellowstone and Missouri Rivers flow through this portion of the Badlands region. These four counties have a population of approximately 20,000 (2012 U.S. Census estimation). The cities of Glendive and Sidney are the business centers of the region. The major industries are oil well services, ranching, and farming. Among the district population is an estimated 1,200 young men of scouting age. 

District contact directory

District Chair


District Commissioner

Gayle Schleve


Assistant District Chair

Linda Brown

Upcoming Events