The Silvertip District services Lake and Sanders counties, which cover approximately 4,444 square miles in the western part of the state. Lake and Sanders counties have a population of approximately 42,044 (2017 US Census estimate) people. The county seats are Polson and Thompson Falls respectively. Among that population are an estimated 5,400 young men of scouting age.

A large portion of the Silvertip District consists of the truly wild lands of the northern Rocky Mountains. Parts of the Lolo National Forest, Kootenai National Forest, Mission Mountains Wilderness and Cabinet Mountains Wilderness lie within this district, as well as the plains, rivers, and mountains of the Flathead Indian Reservation and the National Bison Range.  As a result, Scouting in the Silvertip District is focused mostly in the Mission Valley – Polson, Ronan, St. Ignatius, and their surrounding communities.  Our goal is to engage as many of those youths as possible while retaining the quality program that Montana scouting is known for.

The following units are currently active in Silvertip District – check for current contact information:

Polson – Cub Scout Pack 4947 (boys & girls K-5th grade) and Scouts BSA Troop 1947 (boys age 11-17)

Ronan – Cub Scout Pack 4940 (boys & girls K-5th grade) and Scouts BSA Troop 1940 (boys age 11-17)

St. Ignatius – Cub Scout Pack 4100 (boys & girls K-5th grade) and Scouts BSA Troop 1900 (boys age 11-17)

For general inquiries, please contact the District Executive.

District Chairman:  Robert Everson – | 406-223-0742
District Commissioner:  Julie Hille – | 715-882-2716
District Executive:  Scott Jourdonnais – | 406-926-1810

Join Today