The Badlands District services the following Montana counties: Dawson, McCone, Richland, and Wibaux, and a small portion of McKenzie County, North Dakota. Among the district population are an estimated 1,200 young men of scouting age. Learn More >


The Bitterroot District services Ravalli County. The Bitterroot District extends from Lolo to Darby and services approximately 600 Scouts in 33 units. Learn More >

Black Otter

The Black Otter District serves Yellowstone, Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Golden Valley, Musselshell and Treasure counties. These seven counties cover approximately 15,579 square miles in the southwestern part of the state. Among this population are an estimated 15,000 young men of scouting age. Learn More >

Buffalo Plains

The Buffalo Plains District services both Roosevelt and Valley counties. It covers approximately 7,400 square miles in the north eastern part of the state. Learn More >


The Central District services the counties of Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum and Wheatland. Combined, these counties cover approximately 9,323 square miles in the central part of the state. Learn More >


The Hi-Line District services Liberty County, Hill County, Blaine County, Phillips County, and the northern part of Choteau County. There are eight Cub Scout Packs, nine Boy Scout Troops, one Venturing Crew and two Explorer Post. Learn More >

Lewis & Clark

The Lewis & Clark District services Teton, Cascade and Choteau Counties. Combined, these counties cover approximately 9,002 square miles in the central-western part of the state. The counties in the Lewis & Clark District have a total population of approximately 93,213 people with county seats being in Choteau, Great Falls, and Fort Benton respectively. Our goal is to provide a Scouting program with as many youths in these counties as possible while retaining the quality program that Montana scouting is known for. Learn More >

Mountain Valley

The Mountain Valley District serves Gallatin, Madison, Park and Sweet Grass counties. With an average of 900 youth and 600 adult volunteers, the districts goal is to engage as many of the youth within the service area in the scouting program. Learn More >

Mullan Trail

The Mullan Trail District services Missoula County, an area that covers approximately 2,600 square miles in the western part of the state. Missoula County has a population of approximately 110,900 (2012 U.S Census estimation) people and the county seat is Missoula. Among that population are an estimated 10,500 young men of scouting age. Learn More >


The Northwest District services Scouts in beautiful Northwest Montana, including the cities of Kalispell, Bigfork, Whitefish, Columbia Falls, Lakeside, Eureka, and Libby. Our goal is to engage as many of those youths as is possible while retaining the quality program Scouting in Montana is known. Learn More >


The Nu-Ooh-Ska District is Blackfoot for “Three Counties.” The three counties within the Nu-Ooh-Ska District include Toole County, Glacier County and Pondera County. It is a rural district with 192 youth, which include five Cub Scout Packs, seven Boy Scout Troops and one Explorer Post. Learn More >

Prickly Pear

The Prickly Pear District serves Lewis & Clark, Jefferson, Broadwater and Meagher counties and includes the following communities: Helena, East Helena, Lincoln, Montana City, Clancy, Boulder, Townsend and White Sulphur Springs, and the surrounding areas. The Prickly Pear District serves more than 650 youth. Learn More >


The Shortgrass District serves the following Montana counties: Carter, Custer, Fallon, Garfield, Prairie, Powder River and Rosebud. This area covers approximately 24,500 square miles in the eastern part of the state. Among the population are an estimated 1,800 young men of scouting age. Learn More >


The Silvertip District services Lake and Sanders counties, which include the Mission Valley south of Flathead Lake (Polson, Ronan, St. Ignatius, and their surrounding communities), most of the Flathead Indian Reservation, and the communities that dot the Clark Fork River as it travels through Lolo National Forest. Learn More >


The Vigilante District serves Silver Bow, Deer Lodge, Granite, Beaverhead and western Madison counties. The Vigilante District serves more than 500 youth throughout this area. Learn More >